www.nettime.org
Nettime mailing list archives

<nettime-ann> Second Open-Search Workshop
Erik Borra on Tue, 17 Apr 2007 21:17:25 +0200 (CEST)


[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

<nettime-ann> Second Open-Search Workshop


.
When: Saturday April 28, 2007, 13.00h CET, 11.00h GMT, 06.00h EST, 4.00h
EET, 01.00h HST, 04.00h MST
Duration: official program will be 4 hours
Where (physical): CREA, room 204, Turfdraagsterpad 17, 1012 XT Amsterdam
(route: http://www.crea.uva.nl/contact/zoomplattegrond.html)
Where (virtual): http://www.open-search.net/Opensearch/SecondWorkshop
Cost: free attendance, free drinks
More info: http://www.open-search.net/Opensearch/SecondWorkshop

If you can hold a keyboard, you should be at this workshop!

The open-search project proposes to build a distributed, peer-to-peer,
search-engine. By combining the already existing technologies of
peer-to-peer file storage, distributed crawling and peer-to-peer
searching, we hope to solve the problems inherent to a centralized
search-engine: manipulation, censorship and profiling.

After a period of contemplation and reflection, the open-search project
is ready for some serious hacking and discussion. If you have any
programming skills, analytic skills, interface design skills or other
skills that you can use to contribute to the open search project, we
have todo list items with your name on them! Those concerned with the
legal and policy details of the project are also welcome for the
non-technical track, to discuss policies, legal issues, issues of
deployment and ideology versus users.

Virtual attendance will be possible through on-site A/V streaming and
internet relay chat (IRC, a web interface will be provided for those
unfamiliar with IRC clients). The details will be posted on
http://www.open-search.net/Opensearch/SecondWorkshop shortly. If you can
not be present physically, you don't have to miss this workshop. The
chat will be projected on a large screen during the workshop.

The preliminary program for this workshop is:

   1. an overview of our current progress and the current state of the
client (by Robin, our main developer)
   2. hands-on: there will be an install party to get the thing running
on everybodies computer (bring your laptop)
   3. hands-on: after installation the workshop will continue in two tracks:
          * technical: discuss, plan and code
          * theoretical: discussion about and planning of activities
related to p2p research, law (with guidance of Joris van Hoboken,
http://www.ivir.nl/staff/vanhoboken.html), motivation (elaboration on
http://www.open-search.net/Opensearch/WhyOpenSearch), community activation
_______________________________________________
nettime-ann mailing list
nettime-ann {AT} nettime.org
http://www.nettime.org/cgi-bin/mailman/listinfo/nettime-ann