Nettime mailing list archives

<nettime> Wikileaks and spam
Joly MacFie on Mon, 13 Dec 2010 05:39:46 +0100 (CET)

[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

<nettime> Wikileaks and spam

On another list someone complained that mirror.wikileaks.info was being
blocked by their spam blocker, suggesting this was another form of

which gleaned the following response

mirror.wikileaks.info resolves back to the IP address
That IP address has the canonical name  <http://webspace.heihachi.net/>
That IP address is, indeed, on the Spamhaus block list, but it isn't because
of Wikileaks -- it is because the address is in an IP address range
belonging to a Russian ISP that is part of an alleged criminal enterprise
specializing in distribution of spam, botnets, phising, and malware.   The
machines in that range do distribute spam and bad software.  Whether or not
there is really a wikileaks mirror there or not is not something I do not
intend to check -- even if there is a mirror, there is a good possibility
the documents have been seeded with malware.

Anyone want to check that?

Joly MacFie  218 565 9365 Skype:punkcast
WWWhatsup NYC - http://wwwhatsup.com
 http://pinstand.com - http://punkcast.com
  VP (Admin) - ISOC-NY - http://isoc-ny.org

#  distributed via <nettime>: no commercial use without permission
#  <nettime>  is a moderated mailing list for net criticism,
#  collaborative text filtering and cultural politics of the nets
#  more info: http://mail.kein.org/mailman/listinfo/nettime-l
#  archive: http://www.nettime.org contact: nettime {AT} kein.org