www.nettime.org
Nettime mailing list archives

<nettime> Re: city of london police web page with j18 pix asks for IDs
Grugnog on Thu, 14 Oct 1999 23:01:41 +0200 (CEST)


[Date Prev] [Date Next] [Thread Prev] [Thread Next] [Date Index] [Thread Index]

<nettime> Re: city of london police web page with j18 pix asks for IDs



-----Original Message-----
From: owner-gsn {AT} lists.ed.ac.uk [mailto:owner-gsn {AT} lists.ed.ac.uk]On
Behalf Of Secret Squirrel
Sent: 06 October 1999 15:24
To: gsn {AT} ed.ac.uk
Subject: Important Statement - City of London Police


On Monday 4th October, the City of London Police released the following
statement on their website: 

http://www.corpoflondon.gov.uk/citypolice/j18frame.htm "If you can
identify any of these people photographed during the June 18 incident in
the City of London, please contact the City of London Police on 020 7601
2222 or postmaster {AT} city-of-london.police.uk or Crimestoppers on 0800
555111, quoting the reference number under the relevant photograph. Your
information will be treated in confidence." 

It is vitally important that everyone who reads this announcement DOES NOT
DO any or all of the following, especially NOT repeatedly: 

1: DO NOT find a public phone box well away from security cameras and
phone Crimestoppers FREEPHONE on 0800 555111 or the City of London Police
on 020 7601 2222.  When you DON'T do this, remember NOT to choose one of
the numbers from the list below (or from the website itself)  and say that
you know where that person lives. Remember NOT to give either:  - a
realistic 'made up' name & address (especially NOT one out in the middle
of the Scottish highlands or some other remote place)  - the name & home
address of a back bench MP or local politician (people have these, DO NOT
ask around)  - the name & home address of a director or major shareholder
in a multinational corporation (DO NOT have a look at a copy of the
Corporate Watch 'address book' for some of these)  Also, make sure you DO
NOT give another of these names & addresses out as your own name & home
address when asked. 

2: DO NOT send e-mail either through an anonymous re-mailer such as
http://www.anonymizer.com/3.0/services/email.cgi (every other way *is*
completely traceable - even free e-mail accounts set up from home)  or
altervatively from a free e-mail account set up and used *only* through an
anonymously and publicly accessible computer in a library or cybercafe. 
Remember NOT to write a (sometimes anonymous) tip, giving the number of
the person you recognise from the list-below (or the website) and one of
the address types listed above.  Also remember NOT to (occasionally)
include a reply e-mail address using the address of your favourite MP
(from the list below) or the address or a corporate director. 

3: DO NOT use your imagination and tip off other more obscure services,
such as MI5 (the phone number is on http://www.mi5.gov.uk/ or available
from directory enquiries), other police forces, or anyone in the media
(checkout the list at http://www.freespeech.org/j18media/ under 'uk') in a
simlar fashion. 

4: DO NOT forward this e-mail to any of your friends or print out copies
for your local radical action group. 

5: DO NOT resist! 

Make sure that when you DON'T do any of these things you take utmost care
with your security, as even though the act of tipping the police is legal,
they could still probably prove you were NOT doing it maliciously to
pervert the course of justice (which is very illegal). 

It is very important that we take care of political prisoners jailed on
J18 and other actions. It is equally important that we try and avoid them
becoming prisoners in the first place (unless they want to, of course). 

In solidarity, City of London Police

Numbers of suspects photos from City of London Police J18 website: 

1, 3, 4, 6, 7, 8, 10, 12, 14, 18, 21, 22, 23, 25, 29, 31, 34, 35, 37, 40,
41, 45, 46, 49, 51, 53, 56, 59, 66, 68, 69, 70, 72, 73, 74, 76, 77, 79,
80, 85, 86, 87, 89, 92, 96, 111, 114, 125, 127, 128, 132, 135, 138, 139,
140, 141, 143, 145, 148, 156, 158, 159, 164, 168, 170, 171, 180, 181, 182,
183, 185

List of MPs email addresses (obvious ones removed - e.g.
 {AT} parliment.gov.uk) 

Conservatives

Ian Bruce: brucei {AT} parliament.uk
Sir Sydney Chapman: BarnetCon {AT} aol.com
Stephen Day: stephen.day {AT} zetnet.co.uk
Nigel Evans: ribblevalley {AT} dial.pipex.com
Damian Green: dgreen6268 {AT} aol.com
John Horam: jhoram {AT} ccta.gov.uk
Tom King: Rthontomking {AT} msn.com
Piers Merchant: MerchantMP {AT} AOL.com
Ian Taylor: taylor {AT} mintech.demon.co.uk
David Willetts: dwilletts {AT} ccta.gov.uk
Peter Viggers: goscons {AT} aol.com
Sir George Young: 104125.1655 {AT} compuserve.com

Labour 

Graham Allen: graham.allen {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Hugh Bayley: hughbayley-york {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Andrew Bennett:andrew.bennett {AT} geo2.geonet.de
Harold Best: harold.best {AT} geo2poptel.org.uk
Liz Blackman: erewash.clp {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Tony Blair: tony.blair {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Bob Blizzard bobblizzard {AT} netmatters.co.uk
Richard Burden r.budren-mp {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Anne Campbell: anne.campbell.mp {AT} dial.pipex.com
Roger Casale: roger-casale {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Michael Clapham:michael..clapham {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
David Clelland: david-clelland {AT} msn.com
Jack Cunningham: jack.cunningham {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Valerie Davey:valdavey {AT} labourbristwest.demon.co.uk
Frank Dobson: frank.dobsonmp {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk 
Gwyneth Dunwoody: dunwoody {AT} aol.com
Barbara Follett: stev-lab-party {AT} geo.2.poptel.org.uk
Bernie Grant: 100627.463 {AT} compuserve.com
Nigel Griffiths: ngriffithsmp {AT} dial.pipex.com
John Grogan: saxton {AT} johngroganmp.u-net.com
Mike Hall: michael.hall {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Norman Hogg: 100305.607 {AT} compuserve.com
Geoffrey Hoon: geoffrey.hoon {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Eric Illsley: ericillsley104125.3557 {AT} compuserve.com
Fiona Jones: jones {AT} newlab.u-net.com
Dr Lynne Jones: lynne.jones {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Alan Keen: alank {AT} patrol.i-way.co.uk
Ann Keen: akeen {AT} patrol.i-way.co.uk
Jackie Lawrence: jackie.lawrence {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Bob Laxton: ian.oldershaw {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
David Lepper: brighton.labour {AT} btinternet.com
Tom Levitt: 100043.3401 {AT} compuserve.com
Terry Lewis: terry.lewismp {AT} btinternet.com
Ken Livingston: 105277.3653 {AT} compuserve.com
Chris Mccafferty: mccafferty {AT} btinternet.com
Alan Meale: alan.meale {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Andrew Miller: andrew.miller {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Austin Mitchell: zd67 {AT} dial.pipex.com
Laura Moffat: laura {AT} crawley-sussex.demon.co.uk
Nick Palmer: 76276.2147 {AT} compuserve.com
James Plaskitt:jplaskitt {AT} patrol.i-way.co.uk
Lawrie Quinn: lawriequinn {AT} msn.com
Andy Reed: Andrew.Reed {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Jeff Rooker: jeff.rooker {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Chris Smith: chris.smith {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Jacqui Smith: jacquismithmp {AT} msn.com
Helen Southworth: heln.southworth {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Gisela Stuart: gisela.stuart {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
David Taylor: lp-centi {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Stephen Timms: stephen_timms {AT} compuserve.com
Mark Todd: mark.todd {AT} geo2.poptel.org.uk
Brian White: brian.a.white {AT} msn.com

Liberal-Democrats 

Richard Allan: ric_allan {AT} cix.co.uk
Paddy Ashdown: paddyashdown {AT} cix.compulink.co.uk
Norman Baker: normanbaker {AT} cix.co.uk
Jackie Ballard: jackieballard {AT} cix.co.uk
Alan Beith: berwicklibdem {AT} cix.co.uk
Thomas Brake: cwlibs {AT} cix.co.uk
Dr Peter Brand: alexfolkes {AT} cix.co.uk
Colin Breed: isaac {AT} cix.compulink.co.uk
Malcolm Bruce: gordonlibdems {AT} cix.compulink.co.uk
John Burnett: torrwdevonld {AT} cix.co.uk
Paul Burstow: pburstow {AT} cix.co.uk
Dr Vincent Cable: Inmann {AT} cix.co.uk
Alex Carlile: Inmann {AT} cix.co.uk
Menzies Campbell: nefifelibdem {AT} cix.compulink.co.uk
David Chidgey: eastleighldp {AT} cix.co.uk
Brian Cotter: briancottermp {AT} liberty.compulink.co.uk
Edward Davey: eddavey {AT} cix.co.uk
Don Foster: donfostermp {AT} cix.co.uk
Andrew George: stivesldp {AT} cix.co.uk
Mike Hancock: portsmouthldp {AT} cix.co.uk
Dr Evan Harris: neilfawcett {AT} cix.co.uk
Nick Harvey: nickharveymp {AT} cix.compulink.co.uk
David Heath: davidheath {AT} cix.co.uk
Simon Hughes: bermondsey {AT} cix.co.uk
Nigel Jones: nigeljonesmp {AT} cix.co.uk
Paul Keetch: herlibdem {AT} cix.co.uk
Archy Kirkwood: archykirkwood {AT} cix.compulink.co.uk
Bob MacLennan: bobmaclennan {AT} cix.compulink.co.uk
Michael Moore: michaelmoore {AT} cix.co.uk
Lembit Opik: fionahall {AT} cix.co.uk
David Rendel: drendel {AT} cix.compulink.co.uk
Bob Russell: tsutton {AT} cix.co.uk
Adrian Sanders: asanders {AT} cix.co.uk
Sir Robert Smith: bobsmith {AT} cix.co.uk
Andrew Stunell: andrewstunell {AT} cix.co.uk
Dr Jenny Tonge: larimatsu {AT} cix.co.uk
Paul Tyler: paultylermp {AT} cix.compulink.co.uk
Jim Wallace: jimwallace {AT} cix.co.uk
Prof. Steven Webb: stevewebb {AT} cix.co.uk
Phil Willis: johnfox {AT} cix.co.uk

#  distributed via <nettime>: no commercial use without permission
#  <nettime> is a moderated mailing list for net criticism,
#  collaborative text filtering and cultural politics of the nets
#  more info: majordomo {AT} bbs.thing.net and "info nettime-l" in the msg body
#  archive: http://www.nettime.org contact: nettime {AT} bbs.thing.net